Skip to content

A Conversation with the Puppy

December 11, 2014

Me: Who are you?

Puppy: What do you mean? I don’t know. I’m a puppy. Where are all the other puppies?

Me: I mean what’s your name?

Puppy: I think it’s Puppy but that new lady keeps calling me Ginny. What does that mean? Who are you? Where are the puppies?

Me: There aren’t any puppies here. There is me. I’m Rusty. And there is Maggie. She’s not a puppy either. So we’ll call you Ginny too. That lady is Robin, but you should probably call her Mom because you’re just a baby. I call her Robin because I wasn’t a baby when I came here to live and I didn’t need a Mom anymore.

Ginny: I was playing with all my brothers and sisters and then I got put in a thing like a cave and the door was shut. I cried for awhile but then I slept a long time. When I opened my eyes the big door opened and I saw you. I still don’t know where I am.

DSC_0549   DSC_0564

Me: You’re at our farm. I think Robin (Mom to you) plans to have you stay here. Maggie and I started to suspect that something was happening because there were Puppy Books around and Robin got all these crates out of the barn and cleaned them. There was a crate in the car and a crate in her office and a crate in her shop.

Ginny: Why am I here? What do I do now?

Me: I think you’re here because when you grow up you’ll like to herd sheep like i do…

Ginny's mom

…This picture of your mom that you brought with you reminds me of something. I think I used to live at that house when I was a puppy but that was almost 9 years ago. You’ll grow up to look kind of like your mom and that means that you’re a Border Collie and yes, you will like to herd sheep. In the meantime there are a lot of other things I will have to teach you…

DSC_0557

…like what to do when the big brown truck comes. You have to run on one of these paths I’ve made and bark at the truck as it goes by. And you have to lie down when your new Mom tells you to and not chase cats and not bark. Robin will probably try to teach you to catch a ball and stuff like that. I don’t do that because I don’t see much point, but you’re a baby. If you think it’s fun that’s OK. Just ask me if you have questions because even though Robin means well, I’m not sure she knows what she is doing.

DSC_0550

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

