Skip to content

Maggie learns to be a Good Dog

November 30, 2014

I’ve mentioned before that Maggie barks sometimes when she shouldn’t. She barks at people at the gate and that’s OK. She barks at squirrels taunting us from the nut trees across the driveway and outside of our fence. I don’t have a problem with that but Robin doesn’t like it. The problem comes when I’m working in the barn or when Robin is catching sheep and I’m waiting for her to call me in to help. Maggie barks and I agree that barking is not OK when we’re working with the sheep. Besides, when Maggie barks then the thingy in my brain that is ready to herd sheep is set off and I flank suck. Robin gets annoyed at that too.

Robin decided that she needed to ask someone who knows what they’re doing when it comes to helping dogs like Maggie with their issues. So this lady named Kris came here on Friday. Kris brought treats. I like Kris.IMG_0315

Kris gave Robin this pouch thing so she can carry treats. Great idea, Kris!IMG_0313

The idea is that when Maggie is being good Robin says “Maggie, YES” all happy-like and then she gets a treat. IMG_0319

If I happen to be there I get one too. I don’t know if it is supposed to work that way but so far it does some of the time. This is good training strategy.IMG_0321

Maggie often runs upstairs while Robin is working with the sheep. This is a view from up there.  IMG_0324

Today Robin also spent some time giving Maggie commands like “down” and “stay” and “here”. When Maggie lies down so do I because I am a Good Dog.  I will lie down no matter where Robin is and Robin wants Maggie to do the same thing.IMG_0327

If you have read this blog very much you know that Robin is somewhat critical when I am obsessed distracted by sparkles and shadows when we go hiking. I don’t think she should be complaining about me. Any time she has a camera she is distracted  obsessed with taking photos of all kinds of dumb things…IMG_0323

…What’s with the wet leaves?

IMG_0332

After Maggie was finished with her lesson Robin said we could play. We don’t really Play, but she can get Maggie to run around and I can chase her as she runs past.IMG_0333

Sorry, Robin, but you’re not that great of a photographer. You missed Maggie as she went by. Maybe you need your real camera.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. JC ELLIOTT permalink
    December 1, 2014 7:31 am

    It is fun to see Rusty’s perspective.

  2. Kris permalink
    December 3, 2014 5:59 pm

    I love it! Both owner and dog are putting their hard work in and I am sure it will pay off!

  3. S.Haley permalink
    December 7, 2014 10:40 pm

    Great Job Everyone! Dogs, Owner, and a little help from a friend!

Leave a Reply

