Skip to content

Meet the Sheep, a dog’s view

April 14, 2014

Robin and her Farm Club friends invite a bunch of people out every year to something they call Meet the Sheep. You can see her photos of the day in her blog. I like it because at least I’m not bored. But it is A LOT of work for me. She has these animals out for people to pet. Do you know how hard it is to make sure they all stay where they are supposed to?

Image

Do you see what I do there? There is a rabbit ON TOP of the cage.

Image

A rabbit belongs INSIDE a cage.

Image

By the way, you won’t see any pictures of Maggie in the post. Maggie had to stay with Robin all day. Robin thought that she wanted to eat the rabbits. (Did Robin tell you that Maggie killed a ground squirrel the other day when we went Across the Road? I was impressed, but I don’t think we’re supposed to do that.)

Image

There were also sheep where they are not supposed to be. 

Image

That sheep in the front is Vicki and Robin thought that she would be nice to have in the pen so people could pet her lambs. The ladies working there said that Vicki was stomping at everyone and beating up the other lambs. When they put her back where she belongs, she stabbed me with that horn! Bad sheep. 

Image

Back to keeping an eye on the bunnies.

Image

 

 

It is hard enough to keep watching all those rabbits, but there was a baby chicken OUTSIDE the cage as well.

Image

The lady who brought the rabbits and chickens also brought goats. Those goats don’t live here so I needed to keep them in line too.

Image

This was an exhausting day. Robin told me later that the bunny lady noticed that there are signs up about the sheep and the donkey but nothing about me. She recommended that I have my own sign explaining how important I am to the whole operation. I agree. Thanks, Bunny Lady.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bunny lady permalink
    April 14, 2014 6:54 pm

    Rusty, What a day! I think this was my 4th Meet the Sheep working with you. I tried to keep up with you, but your level of expertise is beyond me. Maybe next year you can be put on the schedule and share your herding techniques and stories. I was thinking of creating a Meet the Sheep Coloring story book. . .you would definitely get a cover for next year. Thanks again for all your dedication and concern. Love, the Bunny lady and the bunnies, chicks and pygoras

    • April 14, 2014 9:25 pm

      I like you, Bunny Lady. Sure, you can put me not the schedule. Robin said that she has some nice photos of you that she’ll send if you want them for anything.

  2. April 14, 2014 8:06 pm

    Rusty — Great blog. Look out for those cute bunnies. Don’t let Robin get her hands on any. No human can have just one. Soon you’d have to be herding them around as well. Been there, done that. Best regards, Riley the Aussie, Hare & There Studio, Santa Fe, NM.

  3. Diana Krotz permalink
    April 14, 2014 8:52 pm

    You did a great job! Thank you for keeping the uncaged animals in line.

Trackbacks

  1. Meet the Sheep | Meridian Jacobs Weblog
  2. Meet the Sheep | Perspective of a border collie
  3. Meet the Sheep | Perspective of a border collie

Leave a Reply

