Skip to content

Maggie and the Little Chicken

January 20, 2014

You probably know that there are chickens here. They used to run around the barn all the time but after Maggie came to live here then the chickens had to go live in the chicken house. There was one Little Chicken that was still loose, but eventually even she had to be locked up because of Maggie. I know how to behave around chickens but Maggie has very bad manners with chickens.

Robin decided to let the chickens out again last Wednesday. She opened the door after doing all the other chores because then Maggie would be going back to the yard and couldn’t bother them. When we do chores in the evening the chickens are already roosting in their house. Chickens don’t have much of a life in the winter if they have to go to sleep when it gets dark.

When we did chores on Wednesday evening the door to the chicken house had blown shut. (Robin just propped it open with a bucket instead of something heavier–that wasn’t very smart of her.) The four big chickens were sleeping on the stairs to the barn but the Little Chicken wasn’t with them. Robin picked up each chicken and carried it back to the chicken house. Stupid chickens. They don’t even move when you pick them up in the dark. Good thing Robin didn’t let Maggie get near them. We didn’t see the Little Chicken again.

Robin was gone for 2 days and Dan fed the sheep with me. This morning (Sunday) Robin did chores again…Robin says I have to let Maggie tell this part of the story. She says I am lucky to have a blog and I need to share once in awhile. So here is Maggie:

DSC_8186 Robin kept telling me to be quiet. She was too busy walking around in the pasture with a shovel to pay attention. She even yelled at me. But I knew there was Something Important. I didn’t give up. I didn’t give up. I kept trying to get Robin to Pay Attention. Pay Attention. Hey, look over here!DSC_8178 When Rusty got involved then Robin decided to look. DSC_8188

DSC_8193

Here is what she saw inside the wall:DSC_8191  

I told her it was there but she only listened to Rusty. Maybe Robin will believe me next time.  She took a black thing that she uses to weigh lambs and tied string to it. She dropped it into the wall and pushed the chicken onto it with a stick and then pulled the chicken out. I was so excited. I thought that maybe I’d get to play with the chicken like I did before but Robin said no. I kept jumping around her but she just told me to LEAVE IT. 

DSC_8206

She put the chicken back into its house and said she won’t let it out again until she covers up the gap where it fell into the wall.DSC_8208

Stupid chickens. Why can’t I play with them?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2014 6:22 am

    That little chicken has more than nine lives! Glad she made it back safely again.

  2. Lisa permalink
    January 20, 2014 4:10 pm

    Fiona wishes she could have been there for all the excitement. Good dog, Maggie!

  3. Bonnie permalink
    January 20, 2014 11:32 pm

    Maggie you are a hero! What a good girl.

    • January 22, 2014 5:36 am

      Thanks Bonnie. Rusty has told me about you. You must have been a really good friend of his. Maggie

  4. Claire permalink
    January 23, 2014 4:53 pm

    Awwww… what a beautiful story! Good Girl Maggie! I’m so proud of you. Hey, Rusty, you’re a pretty good boy yourself.

  5. February 7, 2014 2:11 pm

    Wow! What great dogs you have to alert you to the naughty chicken. Now if only they got to play with her? 😉

    • February 7, 2014 3:18 pm

      Rusty would like to herd her, but I think Maggie looks at her as dinner.

Leave a Reply

