Skip to content

The 2nd day with a new dog around.

February 24, 2013

Robin said that I was mean yesterday and that I should apologize to Maggie. And a bunch of people reading this weren’t very sympathetic to me either. Maybe I jumped to conclusions. I did spend a lot of the morning in the barn with Robin. At least she didn’t forget me when she went out to work. She had to match three rams up with three different ewes to breed them. While they were out of the ram pen Robin cleaned some of it. I kept the other two rams away while she was doing that.

Later in the morning Robin took Maggie on the leash to see what she knows about how to behave. She knows “sit” and she walks pretty well on the leash when she is reminded not to pull. Maggie also tried to run out the door on the leash but she knows to wait if Robin tells her to. She sure gets scared of things easily though.

This evening Robin took Maggie across the road to go on our walk. We didn’t go very far though and I didn’t get to do my usual running.

IMG_5550 This is me waiting for Robin to tell me it’s OK to run. She said OK, but I didn’t believe her because she didn’t come walking that way. IMG_5552

Robin kept trying to take pictures of us but Maggie definitely doesn’t like the camera. In fact she got really scared when Robin pointed it at us. She finally had to put it inside her sweatshirt so Maggie would  settle down.

IMG_5555

Robin finally got a few pictures by using her phone. She had to turn the sound off though because even the clicking got Maggie upset.

Robin got the idea that maybe Maggie would want to play with me if she could run around. So Robin started jumping around and running back and forth with Maggie on the leash. It seemed like it might be fun and I was waiting for Maggie to get to really run. Robin wouldn’t unhook the leash though until we got back home. Then we tried a little bit of a chasing game but Maggie, finally off the leash, was too interested in smelling things.

IMG_5559Maybe Maggie will want to play tomorrow. About what I wrote yesterday, Maggie, Sorry.

Rusty

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2013 6:27 am

    Hang in there, Rusty. We all think you’re a great dog! And now you have a new friend. Salmon treats are on the way!

  2. tristanofcalandra@netzero.net permalink
    February 24, 2013 3:16 pm

    Hey, Rusty, it just takes time. You are nice to Maggie NOW, right? I know you’ll help her settle in.

  3. Chris permalink
    February 24, 2013 8:06 pm

    I always takes a little time to adjust to a new family member. Rusty, I know Robin would not choose a new friend if she didn’t think Maggie was a good fit. Hang in there.

  4. February 25, 2013 3:21 pm

    My mom was totally insensitive and had TWO other kids…it was tough, but I finally adjusted. Now you’re a big brother…

  5. March 2, 2013 10:38 pm

    thanks for adopting Rusty! read up on stuff from Debbie Jacobs she writes about Fearful dogs and has one Sunny from a different hoarding situation.

Leave a Reply

