Skip to content

Displaced?

February 23, 2013

Things started out normal here this morning. Robin and I went to the barn and found more lambs. Like I said last time we spend a lot of time in the barn this time of year. Robin seemed to rush through work and then as soon as two more lambs were born we hurried off to the car.

When Robin got out she made me stay in the car for awhile. When I finally got out of the car I saw that we were at a big house with a huge lawn with about a billion dog smells. Every blade of grass has a different dog smell on it. Robin was talking to a lady who had a dog on a leash and there was another little hairy dog running around loose.  I couldn’t believe the smell cornucopia. (How’s that for a word? I think it describes what I mean.) Anyway, we visited for awhile and then when we got ready to go the other dog got into our car. Huh?

It turns out that the other dog is supposed to be my friend. I’m not too sure about that. Don’t I get to pick my own friends? I don’t know if I want a friend…at least not a dog friend.

DSC_8809

 

 

 

Robin took Maggie (that’s her name) into the house and she just kept walking around and around. I guess it would be scary to go to somewhere brand new and not know anyone.

 

 

 

DSC_8816

Then Robin took Maggie outside. She plans to keep Maggie on a leash for a long time so that she doesn’t run away if she gets scared. Robin told Dan that Maggie was in a group rescued a year ago from a Hoarder with over 200 dogs that were starving. I don’t really know what that means but I don’t think that I’d like to be around 200 dogs. In fact I don’t know that I want to be around any other dogs.

DSC_8813

Hey, Maggie, this is my house…

 

DSC_8814

 

…and I don’t really want any other dogs to come in.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lenny permalink
    February 23, 2013 6:15 am

    Give her a chance, Rusty. You’ll be deeply surprised. For now, she could really use your assistance and acceptance.

  2. February 23, 2013 6:48 am

    Buck up Rusty – you’ll learn to love her over time. Besides, I think it means more treats will be around! Welcome Maggie!

  3. Bonnie permalink
    February 23, 2013 4:59 pm

    She looks like a nice, friendly girl, Rusty. Be nice to her & help her learn her away around, but don’t forget your buddy, Bonnie. You really have to have Robin install a surveillance camera in the barn to find out where all of those lambs are coming from.

    • February 24, 2013 5:23 am

      Hi Bonnie,
      I’ll never forget you, Bonnie. I think Robin hasn’t forgotten you either because she kept calling the new dog Bonnie today. Maggie might be OK after all.
      Rusty

  4. Rinda Shaw permalink
    February 23, 2013 9:23 pm

    Congrats on your new friend, Rusty! I know you’ll have a great time with Maggie.

  5. February 24, 2013 6:26 am

    You will love her once you give her a chance Rusty!

Leave a Reply

