Skip to content

Helping in the barn

January 19, 2013

It’s been cold here. At least that’s what everyone is saying. They are all complaining about it. “The car won’t start.” “My fingers are cold.” “The water trough is frozen.” I say “Just deal with it.”

I didn’t hear the goat complaining, but I guess Robin thought she was cold. Stephanie is wearing a coat and now she has a heat lamp at night.

IMG_5264I guess that’s OK. She is 10 years old and pretty skinny.

Robin isn’t spending as much time outside as usual, but she did take time for her Camera the other day. She was on her hands and knees leaning over a frozen ditch while I watched.

DSC_7998I think she was looking at sparkles. I know I was looking at sparkles. She usually calls me obsessed when I look at sparkles, but she doesn’t consider herself obsessed.

DSC_7972 DSC_7980She was taking a lot of pictures. She put another one on her blog.

When it is cold sometimes the pipes don’t work like they’re supposed to any more. The one in the ram pen stopped filling and Dan came out this morning to fix it.

IMG_5268 I can tell you what’s wrong. There is no water! Dan says, yeah, he knows that. He had already taken the float out of this one and even though the valve up above worked and nothing was frozen there was still no water below. While he worked on it I kept the annoying rams away.

IMG_5266They tried to come closer but I wouldn’t let them come up to where Dan was working.IMG_5271He finally figured out what was wrong. Something was plugging up the little place where the water flows through the float valve. Now the rams have water. “That’ll do”.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2013 10:24 pm

    Good job, Rusty!

  2. January 19, 2013 11:31 pm

    Way to go, Rusty! I think those rams are learning to respect you!

Leave a Reply

