Skip to content

Shearing Day

November 11, 2012

Yesterday it was Shearing Day here.We had to get all the sheep into the barn and I helped.

It’s not always that easy because Robin has some scary animals.

 

There is a lot to do ….…making sure the sheep stay where they are supposed to…

…while at the same time keeping an eye on the shadows.

The fun ended too soon for me. The shearer (that’s the guy on the left) finished before lunch time. No one shared lunch with me. After I am finished with this blog Robin is going to write hers. You can read her perspective on Shearing Day here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa Waterman permalink
    November 11, 2012 8:00 pm

    Wow, I had no idea Rusty was so interested in our vegetarian chili! Rusty did a great job yesterday, as always.

  2. Bonnie permalink
    November 19, 2012 10:29 pm

    Rusty, you have got to perfect your begging. I have it down to a science now. First, make direct eye contact with the intended victim & follow every bite from the plate to the mouth. If the person is a really tough touch, make tiny whimpering sounds & put on your saddess puppy eyes. A last, but effective final plea is to bring out your empty dinner dish. If all of this fails, bark loudly & look in another direction. Then when the person looks to see what you are barking about, “accidently” knock their plate on the ground. Then they’ll give you the food. Better luck next time. Shearing sounds like fun. I so miss having sheep around. Guinea fowl are just not a good substitute. Happy thanksgiving.

    • November 29, 2012 7:38 am

      Hey Bonnie,
      I like that idea you have about how to get food. I’ll have to try that next time there is a chance. Robin has been giving me less food lately because she says I’ve been putting on a little weight. I can’t help it that Dan leaves catfood out for the garage cat and I clean the bowl for him.

Leave a Reply

