Skip to content

Picking up Sheep

August 30, 2012

This post is a day late because Robin fell asleep before I finished writing it last night and I need her to help with the computer. So here it is:

Robin and I did chores really early this morning and then we got in the truck and started driving. It was a 3 1/2 hour drive to get to Lewiston where she was going to pick up sheep.

When we got there Robin told me I could get out of the truck. I would have but another dog climbed right in. I moved to the other side of the seat. I am not too happy about other dogs taking over my space like that. Robin finally got the other dog out. Then we were properly introduced.

They weren’t so bad.

In fact they were kind of fun.

That is Penny on the left and I can’t remember the brown dog’s name. I think it’s Chaz.

The reason that we took this long drive was to pick up sheep. Robin wanted a photo of this one and I helped get him in the right place. His name is Kenleigh’s Matrix and he came from Oregon.

Robin noticed that he has one blue eye and one brown eye.

The other two sheep are from Nebraska and just got here last night. They were at the same place Robin was while she was gone all weekend (and I was left at home).  Here are the sheep loaded up and ready to go.

Before we went very far Robin stopped the truck and we got out to look at this river.

I didn’t go out far because it got deep. But I agreed with Robin that it is a pretty river.

I’m not real crazy about going places in the truck, but I put up with it. I usually just go to sleep.

We finally made it home. Here are the two sheep from Nebraska–Kyra and Aurelia.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 3:16 pm

    Rusty, you’re as good with names as I am. The brown dog is Penny and the black/white border collie is Cash (neither one were named by me.) 😀 BUT they loved visiting with you! Come back again. 🙂

  2. Linda Shaw permalink
    August 31, 2012 3:30 am

    Aloha Robin & Rusty,
    Enjoy reading your experiences while collecting more sheep.
    Bob is napping and seems to be better & has more energy. We have a new place to eat outside and by the ocean. I ate shrimp & Bob ate a fish sandwich.
    Aloha
    Linda

  3. Bonnie permalink
    September 4, 2012 12:14 am

    Hey Rusty, really neat sheep. Love the horns. I wish I could get my people to get sheep, but they just keep saying they have “enough” animals already. There are a lot of sheep next door. I’d like to arrange a play date with them. Herding guineas just isn’t the same. Penny looks like a brindle version of Stella. Pink really isn’t your color. Bonnie

    • September 6, 2012 5:07 am

      Hi Bonnie, How are you doing? Robin says that there is some big Sheep Herding Contest up your way this month, but I don’t think we get to go. She was just talking about it to someone. I did hear her talking to Dan about maybe thinking about getting another dog so I would have someone to play with. She got that idea after we visited those people with the dogs. It might be a good idea, but only if I approve of it. I’ll let you know if I hear any more about that. Rusty

Leave a Reply

