Skip to content

Hiking in the Mountains

August 4, 2012

Today we did something different. We drove to Sam and Guinness’ house at Pollock Pines and then went hiking with their people and a friend of theirs.

The people walked a total of 6 miles according to all their  electronic devices, but us dogs walked a lot more than that. Fortunately there was a lot of water along the way.

Sam and Guinness like to swim. Here they are swimming with Matt.

I’d rather just cool off in the water but I’m not too excited about swimming.

Here we all are at a place called Twin Lakes in Desolation Wilderness. Robin and Matt went swimming here. They looked cold. I didn’t see any reason to go swimming. In fact I spent most of the time that we were here looking at the sparkles and shadows on the rocks.

On the way back Sam started limping because his paws had some cuts from the rocks. We were almost back to the car but Matt carried him over some of the rocks.

Sam seemed pretty happy about that.

I don’t think Robin would have carried me like that.

Here is my favorite picture from the day:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mindy permalink
    August 4, 2012 12:31 pm

    oooo you handsome boy. and happy too. great photo.

  2. August 4, 2012 7:51 pm

    Oh Rusty, looks like you had a great time out on that hike. Wish I were there. I would have gone swimming! But then again I’ve been swimming in the Gulf of Mexico in Florida! It’s great swimming weather!

  3. Bonnie permalink
    August 4, 2012 9:49 pm

    Bonnie
    I love hiking too. We went to Mt. Shasta again on Tuesday & had a great time. Stella, the couch potato, simply stops on the trail & lays down when she gets tired. It would probably take Superman to carry her! We both like to get in water, but don’t swim. Last time we went to McCloud River & waded & saw the falls. What is it with people leaving their dogs? Bill went to a steam engine show in Oregon recently & left me home for 3 days. Jean’s okay, but Bill is my best friend. I wouldn’t leave him home. Your new lambs are cute. Have you gotten them trained yet?

Leave a Reply

