Skip to content

My day at Meet the Sheep

April 17, 2012

Robin and her friends have this event every year that they call Meet the Sheep. This year was no different than other years. There is a lot of work for me to do. Robin’s friend, Julie, always brings a bunch of baby goats …

…and they need constant watching.

 

And sometimes they let the people kids take the goat kids out of the pen.

That means even more work for me. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not complaining. There are a lot of days when I don’t get to work at all, but when they put it all in one day it does get tiring.

One of Robin’s friends told Robin that I was sleeping on the job. I just took a short nap while the kids and lamb were sleeping. There is nothing wrong with that. That little lamb got away from the people at one point–he ran over to our sheep. Robin wasn’t there and the other people couldn’t figure out the right “sheepdog words”  but they didn’t need to worry. I took care of it all by myself and got that lamb back to where it was supposed to be.

Robin’s other friend, Shelby, brought chickens for people to see. The chickens needed watching too.

At the end of the day Shelby put the chickens back in her car but I stayed on the job until she drove away.

Then we had to put our own sheep back where they belonged. This is the kind of day that takes a lot of mental energy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

