Skip to content

Keeping rams away

March 31, 2012

Robin wanted to clean the ram pen today and she needed my help. She doesn’t want to have the rams around her and I don’t blame her. They make me nervous too.

But they paid attention to me today and moved to the back of the pen.

My job was to make them stay there while Robin worked in the other end of the pen where their shed is.

There was one ram that kept challenging my authority. I almost gave in to him, but Robin told me to stay with it…and she was behind me with a pitchfork.

We got him to think twice about coming any closer.

Every time that Robin brought the wheelbarrow back after dumping it I’d have to move the rams again. This time they paid attention.

Then Robin’s friends came over. (Mobi, if you’re reading this, it was your mom but you didn’t get to come.) They helped her in the barn but then they wanted to see the sheep up close. I got them to come out of the field and into the barn.

Then I had to make them go back to the pasture. These pictures don’t show it but there is a big muddy area between the barn and this field and I had to slosh through it a lot. I don’t mind, but I guess Robin does.

She said that before I could go inside I had to get cleaned off. That wasn’t a very good way to end the day. I think Robin said something about writing a blog post tonight so she might also tell you about how much I helped her.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 6:05 am

    Hey Rusty, good job! You’re a funny guy, but I really enjoy your posts. 🙂 Keep up the good work! Oh, and it looks like I’m going to have some proper help around here at Mud Ranch… finally getting some brains in the form of a border collie. Yep, that’s right. Finally a human with some sense.

  2. Claire permalink
    March 31, 2012 8:42 pm

    Good boy Rusty. You’re an awesome sheep doggie! By the way, you’re a pretty good author too.

Leave a Reply

