Skip to content

March 25, 2012

For the last few days Robin has been wanting to move sheep around to different places to eat grass. She doesn’t do it very systematically though. Look at this. What am I supposed to do here?

She has these sheep with their lambs in different pens in the barn and she just opens gates. She expects me to get them organized. There are sheep with lambs all over the place. And those mother sheep are mean.

Robin kept telling me I was doing the wrong thing here…

…so I adjusted. But do you think I want to go near that goat (who is on the OUTside of the fence in case you can’t tell) or get too close to this mother sheep who looks like she is on a mission?

So I moved those other sheep but look at this one. She is paying no attention to me. Robin keeps telling me to “walk up” or “get her” but are you kidding? When I do that this sheep’s response is to look at me and point her horns in disdain. (This ewe is very protective of that baby–that is the one that Robin had in a pot of water in the house. Why? You have to read her blog to figure that one out.)

So there is a little movement.

Finally.

This one ran to a pen that was open.

So I finally got the last sheep where Robin wanted them but she didn’t have the gate open. Does she expect me to do everything? Hey Robin, do you think we could be a little more effective here if you’d put down that camera or phone or whatever it is and we could work more as a team?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 8:56 pm

    Hey Rusty, At least she lets you in with the sheep! Today I had to bark at one of those black ones through the fence. And did she even move away from the fence? No! She just kept staring at me. She better behave better than that when I finally get in there with her!

    Keep up the good work (whatever Robin says)

    Love, Mobi

  2. March 25, 2012 11:59 pm

    Hey Mobi, Maybe we should team up. I’ll bet if we came at those sheep from both sides they’d start moving. What do you think?
    Rusty

    • March 27, 2012 4:51 pm

      Anytime, big guy. Anytime. I heard Jackie got some new fencing like Robin has to help the sheep graze a new area. Maybe you could get our sheep into that place since you are getting so good at moving your sheep around. And we don’t have any of those pesky lambs – but we do have a llama and I don’t think he likes dogs!

Leave a Reply

