Skip to content

February 10, 2012

Robin has been saying that there wouldn’t be any lambs born until next week, but she was wrong. Yesterday a sheep named Dina had lambs.  Robin put Dina in a pen and spent time cleaning the barn while we waited for lambs. Then she did something kind of stupid.

That is the scale that Robin and Chris used to use for weighing goat milk. Robin went to the house to get peanut butter. Sheep don’t eat peanut butter. I’d eat peanut butter but Robin didn’t give it to me. She just weighed it. What’s that all about?

Dina finally lambed and Robin took lots of pictures.

I must say that the lambs were up and nursing quickly. I don’t think much of Dina though. I was just minding my own business…

…and this is how Dina acts.

Also, yesterday, the vets from UC Davis came out and we looked at a funny sort of TV while they held something up against  the sheep’s stomachs. They wanted to find out if there was a sheep that could be bred now so that she would lamb in July at the fair.

Here is one of the pictures. The smartest vet (I think she was the smartest because everyone asked her questions) said that this is a picture of a lamb–that little black spot is a kidney and the big one is the abomasum. Maybe she isn’t really that smart because I don’t think that looks like a lamb. The people all seemed to believe her though.

We almost had a dead sheep today.

We found this sheep when we walked behind the barn. She looks dead here, but she was still alive and Robin got her horns out of the fence. She got up and was fine.

Throughout the day I waited patiently and I let Robin take my picture even though I don’t like that much.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 10:46 pm

    I am enjoying your blog Rusty! My dog (a total “townie”) went to a sheep herder yesterday to see if he had instinct, and the man said he did. So we are going back for a clinic to learn more. It is good to hear from you about what it is like to be in charge :)!

Leave a Reply

