Skip to content

Just doing my job

September 3, 2011

Yesterday Robin finally took that plastic thing off my head. I still don’t know why I’m being tortured. We got in the truck. I like to lie on the floor and sleep. I don’t like to sit on the seat. I don’t like to look out the window. I just want to be left alone of the floor. There were feet in my way, although they were nice feet–not too big, not smelly, didn’t move around much.

We drove a long time and then I was able to get out. Robin put some funny white band around my middle. Why is she torturing me like this? I soon forgot about the white band though because there were sheep. Only two, but sheep nevertheless. And they looked like my sheep at home.

First Robin and her friends thought they could entice the sheep into the barn with hay and they made me stay out of sight. Silly people. I knew that wouldn’t work. After that failed miserably Robin and I went out into the area where the sheep were. They didn’t know how to act around a Border Collie such as myself. They stared at me and stomped. Here is a picture that Robin’s friend took.

It wasn’t going to be easy to get them into one of the stalls in the barn. There was no way to get them to go in a doorway without a fence near it. Robin finally figured out that I should take them along the fence and then she and her friends (Colleen and Chris) could block the escape with panels at the narrowest part of the area. It worked. I performed admirably and those sheep paid attention.

Here they are after Robin had halters on them in the barn.

Now they are loaded and we are ready to go home. We didn’t go home right away though. The people wanted to go to some Fiber Event, whatever that is supposed to be. I had to be on a leash. I saw a kitten on a leash and a big white furry thing on a leash. I think it was a rabbit but it didn’t act like a rabbit. A rabbit on a leash…I don’t think so. I’m going to tell Robin that if she wants you to know about this part of our day she’ll have to tell you. Boring….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris Norman permalink
    September 3, 2011 10:04 pm

    Rusty,
    I’m so glad you were with us on the sheep rescue. We could not have done it without you. I’m also glad that my feet were not too big or smelly. I’m also glad you did not feel the need to lick my toes! You were a great dog at the winery and yarn event and much more popular then I had thought you would be. So glad to share the adventure with you.

  2. September 4, 2011 12:28 am

    Four legged creatures rule! Love your blog. Person won’t let me near the computer because she says I’ll buy mice on ebay. Dumb person, I have lots of mice here.
    Dorothy the cat

    • Robin Lynde permalink
      September 4, 2011 5:21 am

      Ebay? Can I buy cats there? Rusty

Leave a Reply

